Customer reviews for Toro Power Max® 724 OE (37770)

Toro Power Max® 724 OE (37770)

The Power Max 724 OE with Briggs & Stratton 205cc, OHV 4-cycle engine provides proven power and performance to make your job easier in tough winter conditions. The convenient one-hand operation lever frees the other hand to change speeds or adjust the chute without stopping. Easily change the chute direction and angle with the Quick Lever chute control.

A breakthrough in snow blowing technology, the exclusive Anti-Clogging System meters snow intake to prevent clogging and maximize clearing efficiency. The Heavy-Duty Auger Gearbox has special oversized hardened gears and shafts designed to withstand extreme stress, virtually eliminating the need for shear pins.

Choose the right fuel for your snowblower. View our Fuel Fact Tips.
Overall rating:
4.606 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
30 out of 32(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Power Max® 724 OE (37770)
Review 1 for Power Max® 724 OE (37770)
This review is fromPower Max® 724 OE (37770).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Paul

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer avatar
fromManomet, Plymouth, MA 02360, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender: Male
Expertise:Experienced user
Yard Size:0.5 to 1 acre
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Preforms as advertised. Final assembly with instructions was easily accomplished. Great performance in both dry and damp snow. love the non-stick material on the snow chute.
I replaced a Toro that I had used since the mid-seventies. there is question in my mind but to purchase another Toro. I could not ask for better performance , dependability and service over the years
Features I like bestelectric start, dependability, weight
Features I like leastnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Power Max® 724 OE (37770)
This review is fromPower Max® 724 OE (37770).
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Gas Valve Malfucntion after only 7 Uses

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:Over 65
Gender: Male
Expertise:Experienced user
Dependability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I would have given this snowblower a much higher rating, but since the gas On/Off valve malfunctioned after only 7 uses, it does me absolutely no good to have a brand new machine sitting at the top of my driveway while I hand shovel.
The snowblower is less than 3 months old. The last time I tried to use it, the engine would start after priming, but quickly quit. I wondered if perhaps the gas line had frozen since I verified the valve was in the ON position and the tank was full.
3 days later when it warmed up to near 50, I attempted to start it with the same result. It obviously wasn't a frozen gas line at the temperature. It was only after a lot of fooling around we found the engine was only getting enough gas to keep running if we put the On/Off switch in the Off position. Obviously something has gone very wrong with this plastic part.
Very, very disappointing for a brand new Toro, and a big problem for an older man such as myself who can't hand shovel.
Features I like leastdependability
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Power Max® 724 OE (37770)
This review is fromPower Max® 724 OE (37770).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Customer avatar
fromnew york ny
Age:45-54
Gender: Male
Expertise:Beginning user
Yard Size:Under 0.5 acres
Dependability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
excellent machine i would recommend this machine to someone
Features I like beststarter
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Power Max® 724 OE (37770)
This review is fromPower Max® 724 OE (37770).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSauk Rapids, MN
Age:25-34
Gender: Male
Expertise:Experienced user
Yard Size:0.5 to 1 acre
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I haven't used this yet, just tested out everything on it and I'm really impressed. Toro has been my #1 for years and never let me down. I recommend all their products
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Power Max® 724 OE (37770)
This review is fromPower Max® 724 OE (37770).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine. Dependable and durable

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMontreal, QC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender: Male
Expertise:Experienced user
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recently purchased this machine and have only used it a few times. But it has been dependable and easy to use so far, in medium to heavy snow. Starts easily with the pull cord, so have not used the electric start yet.
Features I like leastdischarge chute is not connected to drive panel
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Power Max® 724 OE (37770)
This review is fromPower Max® 724 OE (37770).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful, Compact, Needs Maintainance

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMinneapolis, MN, USA
Age:25-34
Gender: Male
Expertise:Beginning user
Yard Size:1 to 2 acres
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have the 722E (38608), which is essentially a 2013 model that's more basic (i.e. no quick shoot, Power Max anti-clogging technology, serrated impellers..). It's the same engine and 22" wide, crank to move the shoot, and it's awesome. I live in MN and the 2013-2014 winter has given plenty of testing. Goes thru 14" drifts with ease; doesn't bog while going throw 3' plow snow @ end of driveway; and it has ample throwing distance. A few things I've noticed... when the snow is really heavy, throwing performance decreases (likely need a larger model with better throwing capacity). Also, some of the assembly bolts holding handle bars to the unit itself (down near the tires) have come loose, so the machine doesn't sit level with the ground always (I put lock nuts on, but it requires continual tightening). For those questioning whether the 724OE will do the job, it will. If my older-generation sibling version can do it with ease in heavy MN winters, surely the 724OE will perform as expected.
Features I like bestpower, compact, ease of use, quiet noise
Features I like leastloose bolts
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Power Max® 724 OE (37770)
This review is fromPower Max® 724 OE (37770).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another great Toro product!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMineral Ridge, OH, USA
Age:55-65
Gender: Male
Expertise:Experienced user
Yard Size:0.5 to 1 acre
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just got this Snow Blower today after getting pounded with snow all winter I am now anxious for it to snow! I am a repeat Toro Customer as I already have a Toro Personal Pace walk behind mower that is several years old. That sold me on Toro products. The ease of operation and Toro dependability had me sold.
Features I like bestits a toro
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Power Max® 724 OE (37770)
This review is fromPower Max® 724 OE (37770).
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like it but I have a few issues

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSt. Louis, MO, USA
Age:35-44
Gender: Male
Expertise:Beginning user
Yard Size:0.5 to 1 acre
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This snow blower works very well for throwing dry snow I mean it can really throw it, however it doesn't work well throwing wet sloppy snow. It just sort of fills the chute and runs down the side. Another issue I have is it doesn't clean down to the concrete, you end up with about a 1/4 to 1/2 of snow left after you make a pass. The problem here is that thin layer tends to turn to ice if you don't clean it off. So in a way you almost need a single stage (that will clean down to the concrete) as well or your back to shoveling again. That's a little hard to swallow after dropping $900 bucks. The blower is self propelled, one wheel has power going to it, this is fine if you don't have more then 4 inches on the ground. Beyond that you better lock the other wheel or your gonna fight to keep it strait. The last problem I have is the plastic chute, it works well but feels cheap. For $900 bucks I would really prefer more metal. Its a good blower, but I foresee a single stage in my future.
Features I like bestquick starts
Features I like leastplastic chute
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Power Max® 724 OE (37770)
This review is fromPower Max® 724 OE (37770).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy start very powerful good weight that good for snow

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
fromRoanoke, VA, USA
Age:55-65
Gender: Male
Expertise:Beginning user
Yard Size:0.5 to 1 acre
Very powerful snow blower throw wet snow across the road very happy with this machine would buy it again
Features I like bestwell builted machine
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Power Max® 724 OE (37770)
This review is fromPower Max® 724 OE (37770).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best snow blower I've owned or used to date

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
fromWyncote, PA, USA
Age:45-54
Gender: Male
Expertise:Beginning user
Yard Size:0.5 to 1 acre
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After significant research I chose this model and have been more than satisfied with its performance, durability and simplicity to use.
Features I like bestelectric start, power/moves a lot of snow, rarely clogs only with very wet snow, simple to operate and maintain (durability)
Features I like leastsomewhat large in size so takes up storage space
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Power Max® 724 OE (37770)
This review is fromPower Max® 724 OE (37770).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMichigan, USA
Age:55-65
Gender: Male
Expertise:Experienced user
Yard Size:0.5 to 1 acre
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to assemble, started right up and throws some major snow!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Power Max® 724 OE (37770)
This review is fromPower Max® 724 OE (37770).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good produt

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
so for is good
I just got it
hope there will be no problem in future
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Power Max® 724 OE (37770)
This review is fromPower Max® 724 OE (37770).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Completely Satisfied

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fromKitchener, ON, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender: Male
Expertise:Beginning user
Yard Size:Under 0.5 acres
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first snow thrower, I did a lot of research especially with reviews from people who have purchased this unit. It was in my top 3 of choices and I'm so glad I chose this one. It has a nice size, very comfortable and easy to use for the size of driveway and length of sidewalk that I have (3 car driveway, 60ft of sidewalk). The power is perfect and throws snow a mile. Assembly was easy and straightforward and she's started on the first pull every time.
Features I like besteasily assembled, easy operation, sounds good, looks good, feels reliable
Features I like leastno complaints
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Power Max® 724 OE (37770)
This review is fromPower Max® 724 OE (37770).
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bought it from a dealer that will service it

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fromupstate NY
Age:Over 65
Gender: Male
Expertise:Beginning user
Yard Size:Under 0.5 acres
Dependability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product is new for me but I did get a chance to go thru 18" of old snow and I was impressed how it went. I had to use 1st gear but it did it. This was my first day of use and time will tell for long term use.
Features I like bestshute adjustments
Features I like leastslight loss of power in deep snow
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Power Max® 724 OE (37770)
This review is fromPower Max® 724 OE (37770).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSyosset, NY, USA
Age:45-54
Gender: Male
Expertise:Experienced user
Yard Size:0.5 to 1 acre
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All is good.
Toro should make its manual with better figure drawing.
It is not so clear which part they refer to.
Free Wheel and Tracktion explanation is not good enough to understand.
It is well made product though.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Power Max® 724 OE (37770)
This review is fromPower Max® 724 OE (37770).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No snow as of yet

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromGladstone MO
Age:Over 65
Expertise:Experienced user
Yard Size:Under 0.5 acres
Everything went together with out any problems. I am missing one bolt out of four that are used to install the upper handle. There was an extra bolt for installing the chute.
Many reviews said they did not have enough or poor instructions. If you have mechanical ability you don't need the instructions. If you think you do and don't you need a manual and you may still have problems. Thanks for including the adjustments instructions.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Power Max® 724 OE (37770)
This review is fromPower Max® 724 OE (37770).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Send more Snow - I love This Machine

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNew Jersey, USA
Age:45-54
Gender: Male
Expertise:Experienced user
Yard Size:1 to 2 acres
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This machine is powerful and easy to use. I love that Shute is joy stick controlled. Don't even need electric start as it always starts by 3rd pull. Whish it came with chains for the wheels but that is no big deal, just order on line. Thank You Toro for a quality product.
Features I like bestall contrs on console
Features I like leastnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Power Max® 724 OE (37770)
This review is fromPower Max® 724 OE (37770).
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just got one

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSt. Louis
Age:55-65
Gender: Male
Expertise:Experienced user
Yard Size:0.5 to 1 acre
Dependability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just got my new snow blower. Assembly was a bit tough as the auger cable had come undone in shipping and there was nothing in the manual to tell which lever to hook it up to. The pictures were not detailed enough Also the chute is very hard to turn to the right and there isn't any information in the manual to tell how to adjust this issue. Seems to go left fine which is odd to me. It started right up though and looks like it should be a real good addition to the family.
Features I like bestseems tough, started easy with electric start
Features I like leastchute is hard to turn, pulls to the right when you engage the wheels
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Power Max® 724 OE (37770)
This review is fromPower Max® 724 OE (37770).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great power and ease of use

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCottage Grove, MN, USA
Age:55-65
Gender: Male
Expertise:Experienced user
Yard Size:0.5 to 1 acre
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Toro 724 makes moving snow easy and fast. Sufficient power and ease of use makes me want it to snow!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Power Max® 724 OE (37770)
This review is fromPower Max® 724 OE (37770).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New Toro owner

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNew Jersey, USA
Age:55-65
Gender: Male
Expertise:Experienced user
Yard Size:0.5 to 1 acre
I love the machine and it started right up. Only issue is that the instructions for assembly were poorly written without a clear diagram of the parts and how to put it together.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>