Customer reviews for Toro Power Clear® 621 QZE (38459)

Toro Power Clear® 621 QZE (38459)

Toro's top of the line single-stage model, the Power Clear 621 QZE comes standard with electric start and features the innovative Quick Chute control that allows you to instantly change the direction of the chute while you throw the snow. The Zip Deflector control allows you to position the deflector high, low and anywhere in between.

It's 21-inch wide swath and the amazing Power Propel™ drive system make it easy to clear snow right down to the pavement throwing it up to 35 feet away. Also featuring a powerful Toro premium 4-cycle 163cc OHV engine to plow through the deep snow. Covered by a 2-year Full and 2-year Guaranteed to Start warranties to give you piece of mind on those cold winter mornings.

Choose the right fuel for your snowblower. View our Fuel Fact Tips
Overall rating:
4.724 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(105 reviews) 105
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 105 reviews
5 Stars
90
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
98 out of 102(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Power Clear® 621 QZE (38459)
Review 1 for Power Clear® 621 QZE (38459)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has been a life changing event. We have a average size corner lot with lots of sidewalks. We are now 13 years in this house and finally broke down and bought a snow blower. No more heavy snow shoveling!!!!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Power Clear® 621 QZE (38459)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

power clear snowblower

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNew Jersey
Age:Over 65
Gender: Male
Expertise:Beginning user
Yard Size:0.5 to 1 acre
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has great features and works great. even an old guy like me can operate this with ease.
Features I like bestgreat features, throws snow (wet & light) with ease., the quick slide/swilvel is great
Features I like leasta little noisey
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Power Clear® 621 QZE (38459)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A quality product

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Expertise:Beginning user
Dependability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I live in Loudoun County, VA. Bought this when we moved to this area last fall to handle what the neighbors said would be three or four 4-5 inch snows. We have had several 5-6 inch snows this winter and one 17 inch snow. The toro handled everything but the 17 inch snow perfectly. Of course, we didn't expect it handle that much snow. Fortunately, a neighbor with a tracked two stage took pity on us and did our driveway.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Power Clear® 621 QZE (38459)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Customer avatar
fromEvergreen Park, Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender: Female
Expertise:Beginning user
Yard Size:Under 0.5 acres
I have used this snowblower 11 times this season and it's been a lifesaver! Never used one before but is easy to use and does the job for this 60 yrs young female. Even knocks down those thick ridges our Village leaves after they plow. I am very pleased with my Toro!
Features I like bestelectric start
Features I like leastthe choke
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Power Clear® 621 QZE (38459)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NICE IMPROVEMENTS OVER 1994 CCR2000

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCO
Expertise:Experienced user
Yard Size:Under 0.5 acres
Dependability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Only used once with a 8-10 in snow fall. Started quickly and handled the somewhat heavy snow even after the plow went through. Heavier and not quite as maneuverable as the 2000 but the chute design is a big improvement.
2000 ignition module died and part cost ~$160 to replace. After purchase of new 621 found out that a universal module for ~$17 fixed the 2000.
I now have a 2013 Toro.
Features I like best4 cycle, electric start, chute design
Features I like leastweight
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Power Clear® 621 QZE (38459)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Performs well ini light and heavy snows.

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFlemington, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender: Male
Expertise:Experienced user
Yard Size:Under 0.5 acres
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Since I purchased this little work horse in 2011 we haven't had much snow in the Northeast. Perhaps used it 1-2 times per year until this year, 2014.
With 4"-12" of snow now 4x this year it has performed admirably in light & heavy snow as well as slush.
As a single stage it is easy to use and its Propel Drive system worked better than I expected. Kept up with the Two stage blowers in my neighborhood.
It's the best single stage snow blower I know of.
Features I like bestquick directional slide control, power propel driv
Features I like leastsmall fuel tank
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Power Clear® 621 QZE (38459)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PowerClear 621

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNew Jersey, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender: Male
Expertise:Professional
Yard Size:0.5 to 1 acre
Dependability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Noisy
Self propel seems not to work with heavy snow
Features I like leastself propel
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Power Clear® 621 QZE (38459)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful Stage 1 snow thrower

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Yard Size:Under 0.5 acres
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Because of my property I needed a light weight snow thrower that I could pick up and carry. I wanted to get something with decent power and enough features so I wouldn't be wasting my money on something that was light but didn't work well.
The 621 QZE exceeds my expectations. Under 100 lbs, portable, and powerful. It has moved 12" of wet, heavy snow without any problems, and throws the worst of it well clear of the area I'm cleaning.
If you have a property or for some other reason or want a Stage 1 thrower, I'd highly recommend this product. It is more expensive than some Stage 2 throwers, but was well worth the money for my needs.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Power Clear® 621 QZE (38459)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Worked great and started great until it broke down

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromRound Lake Beach, IL
Age:55-65
Gender: Male
Expertise:Experienced user
Yard Size:Under 0.5 acres
Dependability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointed that it requires repair 13 months after purchase. Due to difficult starting, probably the carburetor.
Was kept in heated garage when not in use.
It worked great, started great, left a little snow shooting out the back bottom - but nothing significant.
Features I like besteasy start, easy use, worked well
Features I like leastneeds repair after 13 mo
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Power Clear® 621 QZE (38459)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a good machine and I will recommend it

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
fromUnion, NJ, USA
Age:55-65
Gender: Male
Expertise:Experienced user
Yard Size:Under 0.5 acres
Dependability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Overall I'm satisfied with this machine just cleaned dry and wet snow and it performed well.
I'm just not happy with the way to reach the chute deflector, the handle should be a little longer. Also, when opened the box, the Drive belt cover was damaged. I think that the quality could be better.
Features I like bestquick shoot control
Features I like leastchute deflector
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Power Clear® 621 QZE (38459)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
fromEast Meadow, NY, USA
Age:55-65
Gender: Male
Expertise:Experienced user
Yard Size:Under 0.5 acres
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When the snow blower came it was simple. Remove it from the box,unfold the handle, tighten 2 hand knobs, and assemble the chute using 3 screws to attach it to the rotator ring on the machine. It started on the first push of the electric start button.
This product is GREAT! it plowed right through wet heavy snow . Even what the snow plow had pushed into my driveway!
Features I like bestthe quick shoot control is great
Features I like leastfilling the oil is awkward
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Power Clear® 621 QZE (38459)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Enjoying this year's frequent snowfall

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
fromIowa City, IA, USA
Age:45-54
Gender: Female
Expertise:Beginning user
Yard Size:0.5 to 1 acre
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
My kitties put chocolate mice under the tree and asked Kat Klaws to bring their KatMom a snow thrower.........THANK you Nova, Mystic, Zen and Zeiss....woke up Christmas morn to find the 621QZE by the tree with 2 kitties perched atop and one pointing to the start button! Just in time for more snow fall.Works like magic clearing the snow from my driveway, neighbor's driveway, sidewalk ....finding myself wishing for more snow...excellent performance, easy to use, puts fun in the snow and creates happy me, happy neighbors. Additionally had one of the best customer service experience buying this product than I've had in years at Pyramid Services Iowa City.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Power Clear® 621 QZE (38459)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best combination snow blower, power and agility. Worth every $.

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
fromIndianapolis, IN, USA
Age:35-44
Gender: Male
Expertise:Experienced user
Yard Size:Under 0.5 acres
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I cannot say enough about the power of this unit. When temperature is below 0 outside I don't want to be messing around. This Toro is so powerful I could cut thru heavy snow quickly just like a dual stage blower. Toro's rubber auger actually does a better job getting clear to your driveway (assuming you haven't driven over the snow) than steel augers used in dual stage blowers.
The quick chute feature is well worth the money. The chute makes directing snow quick which is key in extreme temperatures. Never thought the quick chute would be such a game changer but it is, hands down.
I highly recommend the 621 QZE, it is the perfect combination of speed, agility and raw power. Once you run this a few times you will agree, no doubt. The results will exceed expectation.
In conclusion after using this beast for throwing probably 2.5 feet of snow over the last 30 days, the investment in this blower is worth every penny.
Save yourself the headaches of a dual stage and buy the best!
Features I like bestpower like a dual stage, agile, quick so you don't freeze, jealous neighbors
Features I like leastso far nothing, unbelievable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Power Clear® 621 QZE (38459)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sidewalk cleaning ability—fantastic chute control—no odor!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
fromUtah
Age:Over 65
Gender: Male
Expertise:Experienced user
Yard Size:0.5 to 1 acre
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is as wonderful as the Toro snow blower I purchased thirty years ago which still runs perfectly. I like the chute control on this new one 'cause it is quicker and easier to use. I like this four cycle engine better than the thirty-year-old Toro two-cycle engine 'cause I don't smell like two-cycle exhaust when I'm done, and THAT helps me get along much better with my wife (which is the most important thing, believe me)! :-)
Features I like bestno 2cycle exhaust odor, ease of turning chute
Features I like leastnone
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Power Clear® 621 QZE (38459)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Delivery is so fast.

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBerrien Springs, Oronoko Charter Township, MI, USA
Age:55-65
Gender: Male
Expertise:Beginning user
Yard Size:0.5 to 1 acre
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I ordered it on Sunday, 2/2/2014, and got it on Tuesday(2/4/2014) early morning. The delivery system is unexpectedly so fast. I really like it. So, I could use it on Tuesday. The machine, Power Clear 621 QZE, works great. It started easy. I could handle it very easy. However, I smelled gas lick under the floor in the next morning. So, I took it to the near dealer to fix it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Power Clear® 621 QZE (38459)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great snow blower

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromnorthwest indiana
Age:55-65
Gender: Male
Expertise:Experienced user
Yard Size:0.5 to 1 acre
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything I hoped it would be. Easy to assemble. It took no more than 10 minutes. I fully expect it to last 30 years just like my first one an S300. Started on the first pull.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Power Clear® 621 QZE (38459)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great experience

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBloomington, IL, USA
Age:55-65
Gender: Male
Expertise:Experienced user
Yard Size:Under 0.5 acres
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the second unit I purchased. It has always started for us. I only had one small issue that was quickly cared for under warranty. This unit is very easy to use and cuts down large snow piles quickly, when needed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Power Clear® 621 QZE (38459)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extra features worth the money

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFort Wayne, Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender: Male
Expertise:Experienced user
Yard Size:1 to 2 acres
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using an older 2 cycle snow blower for the last 5 years. I just bought the Toro 621QZE and in the first 5 minutes I couldn't believe the performance. It eats through the snow with ease and the power propel drive system does most of the work. I also couldn't believe how far it was throwing the snow! I wasn't sure if I should spend the extra money for the quick chute control but every time I use it I tell myself I'm so glad I spent the money. It is worth every dollar!!! I don't even slow down when turning around and I make adjustments on the fly. Thanks Toro for making my winter a lot easier!
Features I like bestquick chute control, power propel drive system
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Power Clear® 621 QZE (38459)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great snowblower

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromWestchester
Age:Over 65
Gender: Male
Expertise:Experienced user
Yard Size:Under 0.5 acres
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great snowblower. It replaced an 18 inch 2 cycle toro. It starts easily and quickly. Perhaps a little better than the 2 cycle. It throws snow twice as far. It was able to deal with the berm left by the plow at the end of the driveway. It clean to the pavement, though I may have to adjust the scraper as snow blows back to my feet.
The only con as compared to the 2 cycle is that it is somewhat heavier which makes it hard to lift it up stairs.
Overall, it was an upgrade whose time had come.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Power Clear® 621 QZE (38459)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First snow blower ever used

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromLittleton, Colorado
Age:55-65
Gender: Male
Expertise:Beginning user
Yard Size:0.5 to 1 acre
Dependability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've used my new snow blower four times in 4-5 inches of snow and it easily cleaned down to pavement. Starts on first pull (has electric start# and throws a good distance. Absolutely enjoy the Quick Chute feature - saves time and my back. Zip Deflector easy to adjust. Machine pulls along as fast as I can walk. I have been able to clean 8 double driveways and sidewalks in the time it took me to clean one double driveway and sidewalk. Oil is easy to change. Just tip backwards to drain and tip forward #use flexable funnel) to fill. Works as advertised and gets the job done quickly. Wish I had bought sooner!
Features I like besteasy to start, easy to use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>